One Equal World

NYC’s First Lesbian Mayor?

Posted on: July 31, 2013

Christine Quinn

Christine Quinn may be NYC’s first lesbian mayor.
lev radin / Shutterstock.com

Christine Quinn is running for New York City mayor, and she happens to be openly gay.  She is the first to do so, but she doesn’t want her sexual orientation to overshadow the issues she stands for as a Democrat.

She says, “I’m me.  I’m Irish, and I’m a woman and a lesbian.  That’s just who I am.  If you spend too much time thinking about how your gender or sexual orientation affects you, it takes up an important part of your brain, as opposed to just going out there and doing what you love to do.”

Quinn has overcome a lot of hardships in the past.  She dealt with the death of her mother to breast cancer when she was a teenager.  She also overcame an eating disorder and binge drinking in college.  Her father is now on her side, though it took some time for him to come around to understanding her identity. Now he marches in pride parades.

Quinn, who is currently New York City Council Speaker, has also written a book entitled “With Patience and Fortitude.”  It covers the details of her upbringing, struggles over the years and rise to political fame.

“Look, I am a very pushy broad, and I say that with great pride.  My late mother was abundantly clear: My sisters and I were to figure out what we were to do with our lives and we were to do it exceptionally well.  The most significant thing about my outlook has been the effect of my mother dying when I was a teenager.  I don’t believe that you have an open-ended amount of time, so I push really hard.

Quinn advises young women to let go of the goal of perfection.  She also says that, while being pushy is okay, but you still have to be polite.  Use “please” and “thank you.”

Quinn ran successfully for city council in 1999.  As chair of the Health Committee, she sponsored the Equal Benefits Bill and Health Care Security Act which requires city contractors provide equal benefits for married spouses and registered domestic partners.  In January of 2006, she was elected Council Speaker.  Next stop: mayor?

Leave a Reply

