One Equal World

Olympic Medalist Tom Daley Comes Out

Posted on: December 11, 2013

Tom Daley

Featureflash / Shutterstock.com

“In spring this year my life changed massively when I met someone, and they make me feel so happy, so safe and everything just feels great,” said Tom Daley in the opening clip.

Daley, who won a bronze medal for diving at the 2012 London Olympic Games, has made a video.  In that video, he talks about several things, but it’s generally a vehicle to let the world know he is gay.  It’s not much of a production.  Rather, he speaks calmly and insists that, “In an ideal world, I wouldn’t be doing this video because it shouldn’t matter.”

The truth is, it shouldn’t matter.  He’s right.  However, Daley was misquoted by a journalist from The Daily Mirror recently.  They reported that he said he “is not gay.” It stirred up a lot of anger.  He is obviously someone who is careful about what he says.  He chooses the right words for the situation, so being misquoted hurt him deeply.  It prompted him to set the record straight.

In the video, which is about 5 and a half minutes long, Daley, who admits he still “fancies girls,” addresses what he thinks will be the backlash from fans.  He says he realizes that people will probably make a big deal out of this even though he doesn’t think it is.  He says they will probably call him a liar.  He thinks they’ll ask what his dad would have said about it.

Daley said, “He’d say…if you’re happy, I’m happy, and I couldn’t be happier. My mum’s been very supportive as well.”

While Daley might not be a name often recognized in the U.S., he is much more famous overseas due to his bronze win for Britain.  He has even been named the “most prominent British sportsman ever to come out,” according to the Telegraph.

To wrap it up, Daley said, “I just wanted to make sure that I got to tell you guys before I head off to Houston for a training camp that I’ve got up until Christmas.  So, I’m glad I got it off my chest, and I hope you can join me in my journey to Rio in 2016 too.”

Check out this video of Daley below:

Leave a Reply

