One Equal World

Good Morning America Co-Anchor Robin Roberts Comes Out

Posted on: January 2, 2014

You may have seen her on Good Morning America.  She is Robin Roberts, the co-anchor of the show.  In 2012, she was battling myleodysplastic syndrome.  Many people supported Roberts along the road to recovery, but one in particular stood out—that would be Amber Laign, Roberts’ girlfriend of ten years who works as a massage therapist.

In a posting to her Facebook page, Roberts wrote a heartfelt letter to anyone who wanted to read it.  It was posted on the 100th day of recovery from her bone marrow transplant.

Robin Roberts Good Morning America

Robin Roberts, co-anchor of Good Morning America, publicly came out on Sunday, Dec. 29th, 2013.
Image: Leonard Zhukovsky / Shutterstock.com

“I am grateful for my entire family, my long-time girlfriend, Amber, and friends as we prepare to celebrate a glorious new year together,” Roberts wrote in an excerpt.

This was the first time Roberts publicly acknowledged that she was dating a woman, though Roberts is not the first Good Morning America anchor to publicly come out.  The former weatherman Sam Shepherd was first in October of 2012.  Roberts attended his wedding.

Roberts has faced more than her fair share of difficulties in her life.  Despite bringing up the ratings of Good Morning America, she has worked though breast cancer and a difficult-to-pronounce illness that required her to get painful bone marrow transplants.  Yet, she has persevered and continues to smile.

Many in the LGBT community give Roberts credit for being the first to interview President Obama in 2012.  During that interview he publicly said that he supported marriage equality.

The letter in its entirety reads, “At this moment I am at peace and filled with joy and gratitude.  I am grateful to God, my doctors and nurses for my restored good health. I am grateful for my sister, Sally-Ann, for being my donor and giving me the gift of life. I am grateful for my entire family, my long-time girlfriend, Amber, and friends as we prepare to celebrate a glorious new year together. I am grateful for the many prayers and well wishes for my recovery. I return every one of them to you 100 fold. On this last Sunday of 2013 I encourage you to reflect on what you are grateful for too.”

Roberts and Laign met through mutual friends and continue to have a wonderful relationship after all these years.  Shouldn’t we all be so lucky?

Leave a Reply

