One Equal World

Actress Ellen Page Comes Out As Gay

Posted on: February 18, 2014

Ellen Page

Ellen Page came out as gay at the HRC’s Time to Thrive Conference.
Image: Joe Seer / Shutterstock.com

Fans, allies, and LGBTs everywhere swooned as Ellen Page came out publicly during her speech at the Human Rights Campaign’s (HRC) Time to Thrive Conference on Valentine’s Day. The actress announced to the audience that she was gay during her speech at the event; she also discussed unfair entertainment industry standards, and the work that activists are doing to make life better for gay, lesbian, and transgender youth.

Page came out in an eloquent, heartfelt way, thanking the HRC and supporters for giving her the courage to do so. She said,

“I’m here today because I am gay. And because maybe I can make a difference to help others have an easier and more hopeful time. Regardless, for me, I feel a personal obligation and a social responsibility. I am tired of hiding and I am tired of lying by omission. I suffered for years because I was scared to be out. My spirit suffered, my mental health suffered and my relationships suffered. And I’m standing here today, with all of you, on the other side of that pain.”

Page’s words resonated with countless Time to Thrive attendees, as well as the millions of people who have since watched her speech online after The Hollywood Reporter broke the story. Page has received a huge outpouring of support from fans and fellow actors, including Kristen Bell, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Anna Kendrick, and Kate Mara, who tweeted, “Hey @EllenPage…Be my Valentine?” It seems that Page can finally feel comfortable being honest about who she is, and can do so with a massive, supportive group of allies, fans, and colleagues standing with her. Hopefully, Page’s coming out will help others accept themselves for who they are, and bring more widespread attention to LGBT issues.

Watch Page’s speech at the Time to Thrive Conference here.

Leave a Reply

