One Equal World

Laverne Cox on Cover of Time Magazine

Posted on: June 3, 2014

The Internet is buzzing, as Laverne Cox became the first transgender person to appear on the cover of Time magazine. The “Orange is the New Black” star grew up in Mobile, Alabama and from a young age, life was not easy. “I begged my mother to put me into dance classes and finally, in third grade, she did. Tap and jazz but not ballet. She thought ballet was too gay. … Throughout all of that, I was very feminine and I was really bullied, majorly bullied,” she said. “I was also taunted at school. I was called names. I was made fun of.”laverne-cox-time-cover

Another scenario in middle school shows how she got beat up and chased by kids. “The second we got off the bus, they would try to beat me up,” Cox said. “So I’d have to start running, immediately. So that day I was running for my life, basically, and four or five kids caught me. They were in the band. And I remember being held down and hit with drumsticks by these kids.”

When it comes to full acceptance for trans folk, Cox understands that we’ve got a long way to go. “We live in an uncertain world and we want to believe that what a man is and what a woman is – I know that. And people don’t want to critically interrogate the world around them,” she says. “Whenever I’m afraid of something or I’m threatened by something, it’s because it brings up some sort of insecurity in me. I think the reality is that most of us are insecure about our gender.”

Leave a Reply

